European maps

2-digit Postal Map Europe

The 2-digit postcode data set of Europe consists of different map layers and attribute data. The most important map layer is the 2-digit postcode area map.

The current version contains the following 46 countries: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

The data set consists of 2-digit postcode areas and points. The point position represents the location of the most important city within the 2-digit postcode boundary. The data is attributed with ISO2 country codes and city names (among others). The data set also contains reference data: rivers, lakes and an altitude relief map.

4/5 digit Postal and administrative boundary Map of Europe 

The postal areas of the different European countries are available by country or as a bundle for West-Europe, East Europa and Europe complete.

The data sets mainly consist of postal areas, but depending on the producer there are differences between the countries. Besides the postal areas, in some cases additional map layers or additional data by postcode are part of the supplied package. For more information, please contact Rena Braams:

NUTS3 Boundary areas

Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union (EU) has defined an administrative division for all European member countries. This division is called the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS). The idea behind the NUTS is to have a uniform division through which it is possible to compare data among the member countries. The NUTS division has existed since 1988.

Since January 1st 2012 the latest NUTS classification is in use. The official name of this version is NUTS 2010.

The data set consists of 4 NUTS levels: NUTS 0 to NUTS 3. For every area, the official NUTS codes and the NUTS names are provided. The NUTS code is used to link Eurostat data to the map. Furthermore, the dataset contains population figures from Eurostat.

Pricing on the datasets are available on request.